SEVENTY-FIRST DAY

MORNING SESSION

Senate Chamber, Olympia, Monday, March 21, 2005 The Senate was called to order at 11:45 a.m. by President Owen. No roll call was taken.

MOTION

On motion of Senator Eide, the reading of the Journal of the previous day was dispensed with and it was approved.

MOTION

There being no objection, the Senate advanced to the first order of business.

REPORTS OF STANDING COMMITTEES

March 18, 2005

SGA 9018 J A BRICKER, appointed February 10, 2005, for the term ending April 3, 2008, as Member of the State Board for Community and Technical Colleges. Reported by Committee on Early Learning, K-12 & Higher Education

MAJORITY recommendation: That said appointment be confirmed. Signed by Senators McAuliffe, Chair; Carrell, Eide, Kohl-Welles, Pridemore, Rasmussen, Schmidt, Schoesler, Shin and Weinstein

Passed to Committee on Rules for second reading.

March 18, 2005

SGA 9173 BARBARA ROFKAR, appointed November 16, 2004, for the term ending September 30, 2007, as Member, Board of Trustees, Community College District No. 21 (Whatcom Community College). Reported by Committee on Early Learning, K-12 & Higher Education

MAJORITY recommendation: That said appointment be confirmed. Signed by Senators McAuliffe, Chair; Carrell, Eide, Kohl-Welles, Pridemore, Rasmussen, Schmidt, Shin and Weinstein

Passed to Committee on Rules for second reading.

March 18, 2005

SGA 9174 MARGARET ROJAS, reappointed February 10, 2005, for the term ending September 30, 2009, as Member, Board of Trustees, Skagit Valley Community College District No. 4. Reported by Committee on Early Learning, K-12 & Higher Education

MAJORITY recommendation: That said appointment be confirmed. Signed by Senators McAuliffe, Chair; Carrell, Eide, Kohl-Welles, Pridemore, Rasmussen, Schmidt, Shin and Weinstein

Passed to Committee on Rules for second reading.

March 18, 2005

SGA 9187 JANE STEIN, appointed May 28, 2004, for the term ending September 30, 2007, as Member, Board of Trustees, Technical College District #26 (Lake Washington). Reported by Committee on Early Learning, K-12 & Higher Education

MAJORITY recommendation: That said appointment be confirmed. Signed by Senators McAuliffe, Chair; Carrell,

Eide, Kohl-Welles, Pridemore, Rasmussen, Schmidt, Shin and Weinstein

Passed to Committee on Rules for second reading.

March 18, 2005

SGA 9190 RICHARD STUCKY, appointed January 1, 2005, for the term ending September 30, 2009, as Member, Board of Trustees, Shoreline Community College District No. 7. Reported by Committee on Early Learning, K-12 & Higher Education

MAJORITY recommendation: That said appointment be confirmed. Signed by Senators McAuliffe, Chair; Carrell, Eide, Kohl-Welles, Pridemore, Rasmussen, Schmidt, Shin and Weinstein

Passed to Committee on Rules for second reading.

March 18, 2005

SGA 9195 GIDGET TERPSTRA, appointed July 1, 2004, for the term ending September 3, 2008, as Member, Board of Trustees, Shoreline Community College District No. 7. Reported by Committee on Early Learning, K-12 & Higher Education

MAJORITY recommendation: That said appointment be confirmed. Signed by Senators McAuliffe, Chair; Carrell, Eide, Kohl-Welles, Pridemore, Rasmussen, Schmidt, Shin and Weinstein

Passed to Committee on Rules for second reading.

March 18, 2005

SGA 9203 CARLOS VELIZ, appointed October 1, 2003, for the term ending September 30, 2008, as Member, Board of Trustees, Everett Community College District No. 5. Reported by Committee on Early Learning, K-12 & Higher Education

MAJORITY recommendation: That said appointment be confirmed. Signed by Senators McAuliffe, Chair; Carrell, Eide, Kohl-Welles, Pridemore, Rasmussen, Schmidt, Shin and Weinstein

Passed to Committee on Rules for second reading.

MOTION

On motion of Senator Eide, all measures listed on the Standing Committee report were referred to the committees as designated.

MOTION

On motion of Senator Eide, the Senate advanced to the fourth order of business.

MESSAGE FROM THE HOUSE

March 18, 2005

MR. PRESIDENT:

The House has passed the following bill {s}: ENGROSSED SENATE BILL NO. 5606, SENATE BILL NO. 5993, and the same are herewith transmitted.

RICHARD NAFZIGER, Chief Clerk

SIGNED BY THE PRESIDENT

The President has signed: ENGROSSED SENATE BILL NO. 5606, SENATE BILL NO. 5993

MOTION

On motion of Senator Eide, the Senate advanced to the eighth order of business.

MOTION

Senator Finkbeiner moved adoption of the following resolution:

SENATE RESOLUTION 8651

By Senators Finkbeiner and Jacobsen

WHEREAS, The creators of KCMU public radio station, now known as KEXP, began broadcasting from the University of Washington campus in 1972 as a 10-watt laboratory for students,

programming an album-rock format; and

WHEREAS, KEXP, a nonprofit organization with its broadcast license held by the University of Washington, continues to be a member-supported radio station, relying on a growing level of support from individuals, businesses, and foundations, and receiving countless hours of work from more than 500 community volunteers; and

WHEREAS, In 2000, KEXP became the first station in the world to offer uncompressed CD-quality audio on the Internet

twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week; and

WHEREAS, In 2004, KEXP received the Webby Award, the leading international award honoring excellence in Web design, creativity, usability, and functionality, for best radio web site; and

WHEREAS, KEXP continues to strive in its mission to enrich lives with a unique, expansive, and deep combination of music programming, with knowledgeable hosts that hand-pick music

from its collection of approximately 500,000 titles; and
WHEREAS, KEXP has played and continues to play a
historical role in connecting Northwest bands with their first

audiences; and

WHEREAS, KEXP provides an unparalleled and unmatched variety of music programs, including Jazz Theater, Preachin' the Blues, Swingin' Doors, Audioasis, The Best Ambiance, Expansions, Mind Over Matters, Positive Vibrations, The Roadhouse, Shake the Shack, Sonarchy Radio, Sonic Reducer,

Street Sounds, Variety Mix, and Wo' Pop; and
WHEREAS, KEXP plays host to the most dedicated radio
personalities in the entire Puget Sound, including John Richards, personalities in the entire Puget Sound, including John Richards, Abe Beeson, B-Mello, Brian Foss, Cheryl Waters, Chilly, Darek Mazzone, Diane Horn, DJ Mr. Smith, DJ Riz, Don Slack, Doug Haire, Doug Patterson, Greg Jaspan, Greg Vandy, Rachel, Jack Walters, John Gilbreath, Johnny Horn, Jon Kertzer, Kevin Cole, Kid Hops, Larry Metro, Larry Rose, Leon Berman, Lisa Wood, Masa, Michele Myers, Mike McCormick, Nick Turner, Poptart, Quilty 3000, West Keller, Sean Nelson, and Stevie Zoom, with support from Torn More, and support from Tom Mara; and

WHEREAS, KEXP is truly "Where the music matters";
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the
Washington State Senate honor KEXP and all KEXP employees and volunteers for their dedicated service and the commitment shown in their work and for the innumerable contributions made to the State of Washington.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to Tom Mara, the station director, and to Mark A. Emmert, the President of the University of Washington.

Senators Finkbeiner and Jacobsen spoke in favor of adoption of the resolution.

The President declared the question before the Senate to be the adoption of Senate Resolution No. 8651.

The motion by Senator Finkbeiner carried and the resolution was adopted by voice vote.

MOTION

At 11:58 p.m., on motion of Senator Eide, the Senate adjourned until 12:00 noon, Tuesday, March 22, 2005.

BRAD OWEN, President of the Senate

THOMAS HOEMANN, Secretary of the Senate